Car Accidents Should I Hire a Personal Injury Attorney After a Minor Car Accident?
Well, first things first…a ”minor” accident can mean different things to different people. One person might consider a broken bone minor. One person might consider a torn ligament minor. One person might consider the physical vehicle damage when using the term minor. Some folks who tear a ligament and need surgery may say they were in a “minor car accident” because they define a minor car accident as any crash that doesn’t kill someone or cause a traumatic brain injury. Others may have a different definition of “minor” that varies tremendously from someone else.
After any crash, it is always best to speak with a personal injury law firm, regardless of how minor it may seem at the time.
Why call a personal injury attorney after a minor car accident? Because something that may initially be seen as a minor car accident can unfortunately cause lifelong injuries. For example, the day after a minor car crash someone may feel fine but a few days later they may start feeling debilitating pain that ultimately leads to a significant surgery or life-altering injury.
It is always important to contact a Wisconsin car accident lawyer right away.
Do not leave the scene of a minor car accident until you have completed these tasks:
Follow these steps after a minor car accident to ensure you protect yourself. Again, remember, minor is often defined differently in different situations.
According to the law in the State of Wisconsin, you are technically required to report all vehicular accidents if anyone was injured or either of the vehicles or any other property sustained $1,000 or more of damage.
It’s difficult to determine all injuries immediately after an accident and to assess damage costs. This is why reporting the accident is always the best course of action.
A police report is a record of what happened that can ultimately be helpful in addressing your personal injury claim.
When in doubt, call a car accident attorney first.
According to the law in the State of Wisconsin, you are required to report all vehicular accidents if anyone was injured or either of the vehicles or any other property sustained $1,000 or more of damage.
It’s difficult to determine all injuries immediately after an accident and also can be difficult to assess damage costs. Based on this, the general best practice is to report the crash.
Frequently, the documentation or the actual police report can be helpful as a record of what happened that your personal injury attorney can utilize later in pursuing your injury claim.
Ultimately, insurance companies are not your friends. Based on our experience, insurance companies will attempt to minimize your recovery, not act in your best interests. An experienced personal injury firm knows how to deal with insurance companies and get you the compensation you deserve.
If you have been involved in a car accident and have been injured, even if it is minor, contact a personal injury law firm for a free case evaluation.