Attorney Erik M. Knobloch
Most people know that the legal limit for drinking and driving in Wisconsin is .08. The penalty for operating while under the influence (OWI) First Offense in Wisconsin is a fine of $150-$300, a 6-9 month license revocation and 6 demerit points on your driving record. Penalties increase dramatically for OWI-Second violations and may even include up to 6 months in jail and a mandatory 1 year license revocation. The penalties for OWIs that cause bodily injury range from 30 days in jail to up to 40 years in prison, depending on the severity of the injuries caused.
For drivers under the age of 21, Wisconsin has adopted an “absolute sobriety” law that makes it illegal to have any alcohol in your system while driving. This law also applies to drugs including marijuana, prescription drugs and narcotics. Penalties for violations of this law include a $200 fine, a 3 month license revocation and 4 demerit points on your driving record. However, those under 21 should be aware that it is likely you will be charged with a standard OWI in addition to the charges for having any alcohol in your system.
OWI and underage alcohol offenses normally have an adverse effect on auto insurance rates and availability. Insurance companies set rates based on risk; if you are a higher risk, your rates are generally more expensive. When you apply to purchase auto insurance, the insurance company has access to your official driving records. Because OWI convictions and other alcohol related offenses usually appear on your driving records, the insurance company is likely to deem you a higher risk and charge higher rates, or deny the application altogether. If you obtain insurance at a higher rate, this rate is likely to stay high for several years after the alcohol related offense.
If you or a loved one has suffered an injury due to the negligence or fault of another person, call Gruber Law Offices, LLC today for your free consultation. There is no fee unless we win and we can meet you at a place that is convenient for you such as your place of work, hospital, home, or our conveniently located downtown Milwaukee office.
Speak with one of our Wisconsin drunk driving accident lawyers right now by calling 414-240-1460 for a free initial consultation. “ONE CALL… THAT’S ALL!”